THE CLIENT by JOHN GRISHAM

“It’5359s amazing how lies grow. You start with a small one that seems easy to cover, then you get boxed in and tell another one. Then another. People believe you at first, then they act upon your lies, and you catch yourself wishing you’d simply told the truth.”

This is actually my first time to read a Grisham book and I wasn’t really interested at his genres. I only bought this because the bookstore sells it at a very an unexpected low price. And I also thought I might be able to finish reading it before its selling due (well because I’m actually selling books).

I should say that I like this book especially the way Mark Sway (a young leading character in the story)  can think and be tough at his young age. Although it was quite unbelievable that he can do all those decisions just because he’s keen on watching too many movies that he thinks it can also be plausible to happen in real life. And I also don’t like how it ends. I mean, I thought they didn’t like the idea of going into a witness protection program, but why in the end they still go for it? Is it the last option they have for their sake and safety? I was thinking a different ending though wherein when Mark throws the rock to Mr. Ballatine’s house, Clifford’s neighbor, and they called 911, and they will scan the area and incidentally the police caught the three intruders who were inside Clifford’s garage and Mark will not become the star witness because the police will found the body. But I guess I might had anticipated it differently.

Still, I like the book. I also like Reggie (the dedicated lawyer of the kids) who is so cool and such an ass too. I wish I could be brave and cool as her when it comes to facing hurdles and predicaments in life. She’s such an inspiration to me.

Indeed, this book will not surely bore you. I remember staying up late at night just to finish this. It’s fast paced and it’s like every chapter has twist and turn that will keep you to turn the pages for more. You’ll surely love this book just like the other books of Grisham. And perhaps, this book will not surely made into a movie if it wasn’t that great, right?

I wanted to watch the movie of this but I never had a copy of it. I’ll try to look it up next time and I’ll link it in the comment section once I’ve found one. In case you wanted to know more about the movie,  here’s the link http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0109446/

 

Leave a Reply

